Starting today, Oct. 3, Websense technology will add to Facebook’s existing protections to stop users from clicking on links without knowing the trustworthiness of the destination.

When a Facebook user clicks on a link it will be checked against the Websense database. If Websense determines the link is malicious, the user will see a page that offers the choice to continue at their own risk, return to the previous screen, or get more information on why it was flagged as suspicious.

Facebook and Websense, a company offering unified web security, email security, and data security solutions, have announced a technology integration partnership that helps to protect Facebook users from links that lead to malware and malicious sites.

Websense Security

Websense Security

“Facebook cares deeply about protecting users from potentially malicious content on the internet,” said Dan Rubinstein, Facebook product manager for Site Integrity. “We are excited about our partnership with Websense to provide industry leading tools to help our users protect themselves.”

This new Facebook security service will use Websense ThreatSeeker Cloud, an advanced classification and malware identification platform.

Within the ThreatSeeker Cloud, the web content is analyzed in real-time by Websense’s proprietary Advanced Classification Engine (ACE) technology, which prevents data loss and malware exposure by identifying complex online threats and content, says the company.

Advertisements

About Rakesh Raman

Have extensive editorial, content management, and integrated communications experience and have worked as a senior tech journalist, analyst, and columnist with different newspapers, magazines, and Web/online properties in India.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s