During the past few weeks, I have been overwhelmed by the huge amount of day-to-night homepage messages “Bring Twitter to Your Blog” from WordPress. Taken in by this repeated solicitation, a couple of weeks ago, I integrated my Twitter posts to my WordPress blogs: My Techbox and My Funbbox.

But to my utter dismay, mostly my blogs display error message: “No response from Twitter” instead of showing the real Twitter posts, which keep appearing and disappearing. I did approach WordPress with this complaint, and two weeks ago I was told by WordPress that it’s “working on some updates for the Twitter widget.” But the situation has gone from bad to worse.

How?

Today morning, I was totally flabbergasted when instead of showing the regular error message at the place reserved for Twitter, my blog was showing some strange text: “/ 39 years ago R -1 years ago.” Despite my attempts, I failed to decipher this message. I couldn’t know if this is some kind of mischief or Twitter wants to convey something to me in a coded language. It’s still a mystery.

This time, I couldn’t muster courage to go to WordPress troubleshooters and instead decided to write this post. I know I’m using a free blogging service but still not prepared for such recurring surprises. If some feature is not working properly, there’s no need to release it. Rather, it must be fully tested by the in-house people before throwing it in the open.

In fact, such half-baked web services are already causing severe indigestion among users. And despite clamours, web market is struggling to come out of doldrums.

While my words don’t intend to displease people who matter in this case, I hope the problem will soon be resolved. And Twitter would calmly sit on WordPress instead of suddenly flying away in the sky.

Thanks

Rakesh Raman

About Rakesh Raman

Have extensive editorial, content management, and integrated communications experience and have worked as a senior tech journalist, analyst, and columnist with different newspapers, magazines, and Web/online properties in India.

One response »

  1. Nick says:

    We are working on improving the Twitter widget and getting whitelisted with Twitter as well. With some of our updates yesterday, a new bug was introduced. We are working to resolve this bug as well. Sorry for the problems!

Leave a Reply

